Sauerbraten

140328_0002

I guess the best way to describe sauerbraten is as a spiced German pot roast, of sorts.  However, I’m not one for cooking large chunks of meat that I then have to carve, so this is my alternative.  It is probably the easiest – and one of the tastiest – sauerbraten recipes I’ve ever encountered.  I’ve listed the recipe the way I make it using packaged Au Jus mix, instant onion, and brown sugar, but you could always make your own Au Jus (or gravy), chop up your own onion, and omit the brown sugar, if you’re going for a more “natural” meal.

Sauerbraten

1 1/2 lb round steak
1 tbsp oil
2 cups cold water
1 envelope Au Jus or brown gravy mix
2 tbsp white wine vinegar
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp instant onion
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp ginger
1 bay leaf

Cube (~1″) and brown meat in oil.  Remove from pan.  Add Au Jus mix (or gravy mix) and water.  Bring to a boil.  Add remaining ingredients.  Return meat to skillet.  IT FOAMS!!! PUT ON VERY LOW HEAT (better still, use a Dutch oven instead of a skillet…). Cover and simmer 1 1/2 hours (it’s tenderer this way, but I’ve been known to skimp on the time if I’m running late).  Serve over noodles.

Note: I always serve this over those large curly egg noodles, but I’m sure a lot of different types also taste good.

140328_0001

4 thoughts on “Sauerbraten

thoughts & questions

